alabama

PTs must complete 10 hours of ALAPTA approved continuing education each year (October 1 of current year to September 30 of next year is your re-certification period). In addition, PTs must complete a 2 hour course every 5 years covering the Alabama PT Practice Act & Administrative Code. 

Find out more at https://www.ptalabama.org/


alaska

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 24 hours of of continuing education within the last 12 months. 

Find out more at http://www.akapta.org/


arizona

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 20 hours of continuing education within a 2 year period which begins September 1st of even-numbered years and ends August 31st of the following even-numbered year (September 1st, 2018-August 31st, 2020). 

Arizona identifies three categories of continuing education: Category A are approved by an accredited education program, a national or state physical therapy association, or a national or state specialty society.. Category B courses are non-approved activities such as study groups, self-instruction, or attendance at informal in-service programs. Category C courses are non-approved activities such as lecturing, publishing, or managing a practice. 

PTs may complete all 20 hours with Category A activities. PTs can NOT apply more than 5 hours in each of Category B and Category C activities towards license renewal. 

Find out more at http://www.aptaaz.org/


PTs must complete 2 CEUs within a 2 year period prior to license renewal. Arkansas defines 1 CEU = 10 contact hours. No more than 50% of continuing education can be taken through online courses. 
 

In addition, Arkansas PTs must pass the jurisprudence exam during each renewal period. You must complete and pass the jurisprudence exam by December 31st of every odd-numbered year.  A passing score is 70% or higher (20 question exam). 

Arkansas PTs must complete and submit this form within 60 days after taking a continuing education course. 

Find out more at http://www.arpta.org/

ARKANSAS


New licensees (first 13-24 months) must complete 15 hours of continuing education which must include 4 hours of basic life support and 2 hours of ethics, laws, and regulations with the final 9 hours being the licensee's choice. All other licensees must complete a total of 30 hours with the same life support and ethics, laws, and regulations requirement with the final 24 hours being the licensee's choice. 

Courses must be approved by the California State Board of Physical Therapy. The California State Board is currently not approving continuing education providers. 

Find out more at http://www.ccapta.org/

CALIFORNIA


PTs must complete 30 points organized into Category I, II, or III activities once per 2 year renewal period. Category I activities include continuing education courses (1 hour = 1 point), university coursework (1 credit hour = 10 points), completion of a residency or fellowship (20 points), specialist certification (15 points), teaching continuing education courses (1 hour = 0.5 points, maximum of 5), or read for credit (1 hour = 1 point, max of 10). Category II includes unaccredited university coursework, continuing education not related to PT practice, attending workplace in-services, mentorship, journal clubs, and CPR courses. Category III courses include research/publication, teaching in an accredited PT/PTA program, serving as a clinical instructor, or presenting research or to the public regarding PT. A full list is available here

PTs must also complete a Reflective Self-Assessment Tool (RSAT) every renewal period. 

Find out more at http://www.coloradophysicaltherapists.org/

COLORADO


Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete at least 20 hours of continuing education per one year renewal period. 

Find out more at http://www.ctpt.org/

CONNECTICUT


Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours (3 CEUs) of continuing education within a 2 year renewal period which ends on January 31st of every odd-numbered year. 2 of these hours must include ethics coursework as well as 1 hour of CPR certification. 

Find out more at http://www.dptaonline.com/

DELAWARE


FLORIDA

PTs must complete 24 hours of continuing education within a 2 year renewal period ending on November 30th of odd-numbered years. 1 hour of HIV/AIDs education is required as is 2 hours of prevention of medical errors. No more than 12 hours of distance learning is permitted. 

Find out more at http://www.fpta.org/


GEORGIA

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours within a 2 year period ending on December 31st of odd-numbered years. 4 hours must include ethics and jurisprudence information.

Find out more at http://www.ptagonline.org/


HAWAII

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

No current continuing education requirements for license renewal. 

Find out more at http://www.hapta.org/


Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 16 hours of continuing education per year. Hours are allowed to be carried forward into the next renewal period. 

Find out more at https://www.ptidaho.org/

IDAHO


PTs must complete 40 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending September 30th. At least 3 hours must be related to the ethical practice of physical therapy. No more than 20 hours of online continuing education are allowed.

Find out more at http://www.ipta.org/

illinois


INDIANA

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 22 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. 2 hour must be an ethics and Indiana state jurisprudence course. 

Find out more at https://inapta.org/


IOWA

PTs must complete 40 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period that begins on the 16th day of your birth month and ends 2 years later on the 15th day of your birth month. 2 hours must be completed in identifying and reporting abuse.

Find out more at http://www.iowaapta.org/


KANSAS

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete at least 40 hours of continuing education in a 2-year renewal period ending on December 31st of each odd-numbered year. 

Find out more at https://kpta.com/index.cfm?


KENTUCKY

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education by March 31st of every odd-numbered year.

Find out more at http://www.kpta.org/


PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. 2 hours must come from a jurisprudence course, 2 hours of ethics/professionalism, 18 hours of clinical coursework, with a maximum of 8 coming from administrative duties. No more than 15 hours of distance education is allowed. 

Find out more at https://lpta.org/

LOUISANA


MAINE

No current continuing education requirements for licensure renewal. 

Find out more at http://maineapta.org/


MARYLAND

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on May 22nd. 

Find out more at https://www.aptamd.org/


MASSACHUSETTS

No current continuing education requirements for license renewal. 

Find out more at https://www.aptaofma.org/


MICHIGAN

ICE is a Michigan Physical Therapy Association accredited continuing education provider!

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

Beginning in the 2017-2019 license renewal cycle, PTs must complete 24 hours of continuing education which must include 1 hour of pain management and 1 hour of human trafficking. No more than 12 hours are allowed for online continuing education. 

Find out more at https://mpta.com/index.cfm


PTs must complete 20 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period.

Find out more at http://www.mnapta.org/

MINNESOTA


MISSISSIPPI

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 24 hours of continuing education per year ending on June 30th. At least 6 hours must be directly related to the practice of physical therapy. No more than 12 hours of online continuing education are allowed. At least 2 hours in ethics/professional responsibility are required. 

Find out more at http://www.mspta.org/


MISSOURI

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on January 31st of each even-numbered year. 

Find out more at http://www.mopt.org/


MONTANA

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on March 31st of odd-numbered years.

Find out more at http://www.mapta.com/


NEBRASKA

PTs must complete 20 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on November 1st of odd-numbered years. 

Find out more at http://npta.org/index.php?bypassCookie=1


NEVADA

PTs must complete 15 hours of continuing education by July 31st each year. 

Find out more at http://www.nvapta.org/


NEW HAMPSHIRE

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending December 31st of even-numbered years. 

Find out more at http://www.nhapta.org/


NEW JERSEY

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. A maximum of 10 hours is allowed from online coursework. 4 hours must come from jurisprudence/professional ethics. 

Find out more at http://aptanj.org/


NEW MEXICO

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending January 31st. 

Find out more at https://www.nmapta.org/


NEW YORK

PTs must complete 36 hours of continuing education per 3-year renewal period. 

Find out more at http://www.nypta.org/


Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 "points" of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on January 31st.

Find out more at http://ncpt.org/?

NORTH CAROLINA


NORTH DAKOTA 

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 25 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on January 31st. 5 hours may come from CPR certification.

Find out more at http://www.ndpta.net/


OHIO

PTs must complete 24 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending January 31st of even-numbered years. 

Find out more at http://www.ohiopt.org/


OKLAHOMA

PTs must complete 40 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending December 31st of odd-numbered years. 3 hours must consist of ethics education. No more than 20 hours of online coursework is allowed.

Find out more at http://www.okpt.org/


OREGON

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 24 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on March 31st. A one-time only pain management course (7 hours) is required.

Find out more at http://www.opta.org/


PENNSYLVANIA

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending December 31st of even-numbered years. 2 hours must consist of coursework related to physical therapy laws/ethics. 10 hours must consist of evaluation procedures in a direct access setting. 2 hours must consist of coursework in child abuse recognition and reporting. 

Find out more at http://ppta.org/


PUERTO RICO

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education. 3 hours must include education on infection control of HIV, hepatitis, and tuberculous. No more than 6 hours may come from distance learning.

Find out more at http://www.salud.gov.pr


RHODE ISLAND

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 24 hours of continuing education per 2-year period ending March 31st of even-numbered years. 4 hours must consist of workplace in-services. Another 4 hours must consist of CPR certification.

Find out more at https://www.riapta.com/


SOUTH CAROLINA

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year period ending on December 31st of even-numbered years. 

Find out more at http://scapta.org/


SOUTH DAKOTA

No current continuing education requirements for license renewal.

Find out more at http://www.sdapta.org/


Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. Only 10 hours are allowed through online coursework. 4 hours must consist of TNPTA approved ethics and jurisprudence coursework.

Find out more at http://www.tptatn.org/

TENNESSEE


TEXAS

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period on the last day of their birth month. 2 hours must include ethics/professional responsibility coursework. 

Find out more at http://www.tpta.org/


UTAH

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 40 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. 3 hours must include ethics and jurisprudence law. No more than 20 hours of online coursework is allowed. 

Find out more at http://www.uptaonline.org/


VERMONT

No current continuing education requirements for license renewal.

Find out more at http://www.vtapta.org/


VIRGINIA

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. No more than 15 hours may come from online courses. 4 hours must come from courses related to clinical practice in a direct access setting. 

Find out more at http://www.vpta.org/


WASHINGTON

PTs must complete 40 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. 7 hours of AIDs education and training is required for the first renewal if not received in school. 

Find out more at http://www.ptwa.org/


WASHINGTON D.C.

PTs must complete 40 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period. A maximum of 20 hours of online continuing education is allowed. 

Find out more at http://www.dcpta.com/


WEST VIRGINIA

PTs must complete 24 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on December 31st.

Find out more at https://www.wvpta.org/


WISCONSIN

Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 30 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on February 28th of odd-numbered years. 4 hours must be in ethics and jurisprudence. 

Find out more at https://wpta.org/


Accepts CEUs approved by other state physical therapy association chapters.

PTs must complete 20 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal period ending on October 1st. 5 hours may be counted for CPR renewal. 

Find out more at http://www.wypta.org/

WYOMING